Also this year the European Championship of classic pizza Pizza Senza Frontiere 2022 was held in London. The event found space during The European Pizza & Pasta Show and ended today with the last competitions and awards for competitors. The event has always been one of the most exciting food events on the London scene.

Between doughs and toppings, the competitors began to warm up even before the start of the competitions, which took place on 22 and 23 June 2022. The fair was not only the scene of the fascinating competitions of the European Championship of Pizza Without Borders. At the Olympia Exhibition Center there were numerous stands of leading companies in the pasta and pizza sector, highlighted with show cooking and demonstrations.

An exciting edition experienced by competitors, visitors and organizers with serenity: we are finally back on the scene without the worry of last year caused by the pandemic. So off to smiles without a mask, to handshakes and hugs exchanged by competitors, some for joy, some for the bitterness of defeat.

Not an easy task that of the judges, assigned to Edin Basic, Mike Arvblom, Sebastian Apollo Delavega, Giorgio Riggio and Massimo Costanzo who found themselves judging high-level and professional pizzas from all over Europe (and beyond).

With the number 20, Mauro Alba ranked first in the European Championship of Pizza Without Borders, followed by Carmine Mastrocinque and Aldo Brancato.

The runner-up is Carmine Mastrocinque who presented the jurors with a pizza with homemade sausage, Pachino tomatoes IGP, stracciatella, parmesan flakes and basil. Carmine’s “Cinque Corone” beat, albeit slightly, the “Martuccia”, Aldo Brancato’s pizza. Aldo proposed a topping with pumpkin cream, smoked bacon, mozzarella cream, Grana Padano wafer and black pepper for his pizza.

The ranking of the top 10:

Mauro AlbaItalia655
Carmine MastrocinqueRepubblica Ceca635
Aldo BrancatoItalia630
Jonathan MarchelloRegno Unito605
Gianluca PiersantiItalia601
Vito GiottaItalia594
Riccardo CiampichettiDanimarca584
Gioacchino Di GregorioDanimarca575
Filippo AnguissolaItalia573
Salah HaidarRegno Unito566